The Architects of Time Series - Cauny

As watch makers, our hearts remain restless and guide us along paths where we can discover beauty. For two years now, we have been pursuing the dream of having a collection of watches designed by the best architects of our time. We know that the development of wristwatches is a discipline in itself, and yet we believe that the realm of architecture finds it a promising challenge in the exercise of designing a watch.

The Architects of Time Series also aspires to be a tribute to the mastery of those who have always worked with time as an element of design; making time, for once, the literal matter of the project. By wearing theses wristwatches, we wish to deepen our relationship with the perspective of each of our exceptional authors, through the paradox of embodying artistic timelessness in a timepiece.

Meet the Architects

Rafael Moneo

Rafael Moneo was born in Tudela (Navarra) in 1937 and has been one of the most notable figures in the world of architecture in the last 50 years. He received the Pritzker Prize in 1996 for his entire work.

He studied at the School of Architecture in Madrid, where he graduated in 1961. After graduating, he worked in Denmark with Jørn Utzon, with whom he collaborated in the Sydney Opera House. In 1970, he obtained the Chair of Elements of Composition at the School of Architecture of Barcelona. In 1985, he was appointed Chairman of the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University.

He is the author of famous buildings such as the National Museum of Roman Art in Mérida, the Museum of Modern Art in Stockholm, the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston, the Kursaal Conference Centre and Auditorium in San Sebastián, the Expansion of the Prado Museum and the Atocha Station in Madrid or the Los Angeles Cathedral.

He has combined his intense practice of architecture with a long work of reflection and criticism. Several generations of architects have been influenced by his texts, among which his famous essay The Solitude of Buildings stands out. He wrote: “I prefer to think that architecture is the air that we breathe when buildings have reached their radical solitude.”

In addition to the Pritzker Prize, he received numerous awards, including the Royal Gold Medal of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 2003, the Prince of Asturias Award in 2012, the Praemium Imperiale of Japan in 2017 and the Golden Lion of the Venetian Biennale in 2021.


Álvaro Siza

Álvaro Siza Vieira was born in 1933, in Matosinhos, Porto. Winner of the Pritzker Prize in 1992, he is one of the most awarded architects in history and internationally recognized as one of the most prominent figures in contemporary architecture.

Graduated from the School of Fine Arts at the University of Porto in 1955, he soon stood out for his ability to innovate, for his bold lines, and for his unusual ability to reinterpret the traditional in the light of the present. He has taught at various universities in Europe, North America, and South America, and his works, spread all over the world, serve as an inspiration to several generations of architects.


Find CAUNY at a store near you